Repeat winners the norm at Hamilton County Speedway on Saturday

Webster City – Mother Nature thought she would be the only winner last week at the Hamilton County Speedway.

She was wrong.

The torrent of rain and a bank-full Boone River didn’t hamper track officials as they prepared the racing surface. In fact, they even had to sprinkle more water on the track to get it to prime racing surface on Saturday.

The fast track was evident as veteran racer Darrel DeFrance of Marshalltown, in the 99D Late Model, worked his way from a last-place start to take the feature win. DeFrance took over the lead by lap No. 17 of the 20-lap feature from eventual second-place finisher Ryan Griffith, No. 15K of Webster City.

The No. 99D used the entire track as he gained on Griffith lap by lap, with the two cars running tight to the end. Second-row starter, the No. 15C driven by Curt Schroeder of Ames, led the first three laps but finished in third. Jason Hahne, No. 76 out of Webster City, was fourth with Carey Umbarger, in the No. 2 of Garner, in fifth.

Aaron Benson, No. 24 of Clear Lake, liked the winner’s circle so much last week that he made his way into the lead by lap three from his third-row start spot to grab another trophy. He stayed there to claim his second Sport Mod victory of the season.

Benson, after working for several race firms over the past nine years, is beginning just his second year of racing. All of his wins have come on the local track.

Webster City’s Brandon Toftee, in the No. 85T Sport Mod, scooted up from a fifth-row start to claim second. Sixth-row starter Matt Lettow, No. 21L of Roland, was third. Blairsburg’s Bob Sutherland, No. 4ORD, was fourth and Levi Carlberg, No. 2C of Iowa Falls, came across in fifth.

Excitement in the Stock Car class began during Hot Laps, as the No. 556 driven by Terry Cornelison of Boone flipped after tangling with another car in the middle of turns three and four. Sheet metal flew, but Cornelison emerged from underneath the car without a scratch.

The Stock car drivers raced hard during their feature with Lance Deal, No. 22X of Fort Dodge, taking the checkers for his second win this season. Derek Reimer, No. 17R of Marshalltown, placed second after leading the race for 12 laps. In third was row five starter Steve Meyer, No. 94 of Grundy Center. John Campbell, No. 7J of Belmond, was fourth with Webster City’s Jim Mitchell in the No. M5 crossing the finish line in fifth.

Scott Olson, No. 8X of Blairsburg, garnered his first win at the track this year in the Modified division. He was pressured the entire race by second-place finisher Greg Elliott, No. 47 of Webster City. Olson had the speed on the stretches with Elliott catching him in the corners.

Ryan Ruter of Kanawha in the No. 555 took third. Mark Elliott, No. 15 of Webster City, was fourth with Tyler Prochaska, No. 22T of Iowa Falls, claiming fifth.

It took all 10 laps to decide the winner in the Sport Compact race as No. 37 Dustin Haggard of Humboldt and Webster City’s Adam Strunk in the No. 85S traded the first spot back and forth. Haggard eventually claimed the win with Strunk settling for second. Third-place went to No. 10 Danny Sassman, Jr., of Fort Dodge.

Drivers in the Hobby Stock feature race used every inch of the track with those behind winner No. 56 Ty Griffith of Webster City running three wide at times. Griffith was pushed by veteran racer Randy Embrey, No. 40 of Granger, who finished second. Cody Nielsen, No. 29N of Fort Dodge, settled into third.

It was a squeaker at the finish line, with Griffith awarded the checkered flag for his second win this season. Fourth and fifth went to Webster City drivers Cory Roe in the No. 8R and Craig Graham in the No. 13G.

There were 81 cars on the track from 40 Iowa towns and the state of Kansas. Regular season point racing for the track resumes on Saturday, June 8. Hot laps begin at 6:30 pm., with heat and features to follow.

Popular Late Model and Modified drivers will be in action tonight as the Deery Brothers Summer Series for IMCA Late Models and the Hawkeye IMCA Modified Dirt Tour take to the Hamilton County Speedway track. Support classes include the Sport Mod and Hobby Stock divisions.

Hot laps will begin at 7 p.m.