Lynx 1988 state champs to celebrate 25th anniversary on field

WEBSTER CITY – Can the 1988 state championship Webster City softball team still get it done on the field? We’re about to find out.

To celebrate the 25th anniversary of the state’s only champion in 1988 – softball was played as one class only back then – an alumni game will take place at Lynx Field on Saturday starting at 5:30 p.m.

Players from the 1988 squad, coached by former Lynx and Hall of Fame coach Dave Hilton and longtime assistant Jim Adams, will band together to take on an all-star team of Webster City alumni, which will take direction from current Lynx coaches Jess Howard and Kevin and Trish Bahrenfuss.

Scheduled to play for the 1988 team include Jane (Teubert) Pruismann, Michelle (Sundine) Richards, Lisa (Rhodes) Hansen, Amy (Murphy) Beinhart, Jenny Chambers, Julie (Ferrell) Spore, Dawn Kesler, Kathy Pratt, Laura Lee (Garner) Tone, Karen VanDiest, Cheryl Anderson, Tanya (Jahnke) Massey and Kristin Hilton.

Vicki (White) Tomechek, an all-state catcher for the Lynx during their run to the crown, will not play.

The alumni team will consist of Jenny (Wirtz) Cherry, Meredith (Tharp) Bargfrede, Jaime (Brock) Davis, Tara (Flora) Trine, Jessie (Ubben) Pedelty, Cassie (Angstrom) Ihle, Amber (Angstrom) Kastler, BreAnn VanDeer, Breanne Kastler, Melissa Pagel, Heather (Brock) Howard, Erin Anderson, Jamie (Kehoe) Garvey and Joa (Hayes) Rolffs.

VanDeer pitched and Ihle was her battery mate for Webster City when it won the 2001 Class 2A state championship.

Sponsors for the game include First State Bank, Town and Country Insurance, First American Bank, LuAnn Tanner Abens Realty, Seneca Street Saloon, Stony Creek Landscapes, Fareway and Blue Bunny, and Hy-Vee.