School board elections set for Tuesday

Hamilton County voters will head to the polls Tuesday to elect school board members in the four districts around the county. There no contested races this year.

Polls are open from noon until 8 p.m. Tuesday, according to Kim Schaa, commissioner of elections.

Webster City

In Webster City, two incumbents, Pamela J. Hayes and Michelle Zahn are seeking re-election. Voters in the Webster City District will cast their votes at St. Paul’s Lutheran Church, 1004 Beach St.

Northeast Hamilton

Northeast Hamilton School District voters will cast their ballots at the Blairsburg City Hall, 516 Lake St., Blairsburg. Eric Patterson is running unopposed for the Director of District 1 seat. The election will fill a vacancy on the school board.

Bruce Mark is running for the Director of District 2 seat and is also in an uncontested race.

Candidates running for at-large seats are Marlin Pruismann and Roxanne Anderson. Anderson is seeking to fill a vacancy on the board.

South Hamilton

Two candidates are seeking election in the South Hamilton School District. Marie Johnson is running for the Director of District 1 seat and William Johnston is on the ballot for the Director of District 4.

South Hamilton voters will cast ballots at the South Hamilton High School, 315 Division St., Jewell. Voters are asked to use the main entrance.


Julie L. Patterson, Chad Smith and Alison Weidemann are seeking the three at-large seats on the Stratford Community School Board of Education. Voters will also be asked to weigh in on revenue purpose state, Public Measure A.

The statement is as follows, “To adopt a revenue purpose statement describing the use of money from the penny sales and service tax for schools received by the Stratford Community School District. Any revenue the Stratford Community School District may receive from the secure and advanced vision for education fund for school infrastructure (penny sales and services tax for schools) will be expended for any statutorily authorized purpose for school infrastructure, property tax relief and / or the issuance of bonds as authorized now or hereafter by Chapter 423E and Chapter 423F of the Iowa Code.”

Stratford Community School, 1000 Shakespeare Ave., will be the polling site for the community.