Welch, Hawkins and McKinney elected

Logan Welch, Matt McKinney and John Hawkins will be sworn in as the newest City Council members of Webster City, according to unofficial results from the commissioner of elections.

The three candidates were part of a field of seven local residents who sought the three seats in the race. Welch received 782 votes, while McKinney received 631, followed closely by Hawkins at 628 votes.

Candidate Jim Talbot received 603 votes and incumbent Linda Conaway received 525 votes. Heather Kierzek earned 439 votes, while Mark Gillette had 365.

Welch, who came away with the largest portion of the vote, said he was honored to have voters turn out to support him. He said, “I just want to get a council that has different views coming in from all different directions and make sure they’re taken seriously. I’m going to make sure my views are taken seriously and I’m happy to hear the views of others.”

Welch, 33, is the now the youngest member of the council. He is a corporate business development manager for Ramco Innovations.

McKinney, 42, has lived in Webster City for the past 36 years. He is the director of radiology for Van Diest Medical Center in Webster City.

McKinney said, “I’m excited to be able to represent the city and I look forward to working on moving forward in a positive direction.” He added that he was very appreciative of the votes cast by his supporters.

Hawkins, who edged out candidate Jim Talbot by 25 in the unofficial results, said, “I look forward to doing the best work I can for the city. Hopefully we can keep the momentum going forward.”

Hawkins, 56, works in the trucking industry and has lived in Webster City for the past 13 years.

The three new council members will be given the oath of office at the first City Council meeting in January.

Trustee positions

For the Fuller Hall Board of Trustees, Mary C. Fortune had 1,052 votes and Ann E. Kness received 1,124 votes.

Crystal Gordon was elected to the Kendall Young Library and Trust Estate board to serve from 2014 through 2018. She received 1,149 votes. Mark Dohms and Tami L. Hejlik ran for two seats on the library board, receiving 1,103 and 1,051 votes respectively. The two positions would begin in 2015 and run through 2019.