Cooney adds to IMCA Late Model national lead with win at Hamilton County Speedway

WEBSTER CITY – Des Moines driver Todd Cooney, the IMCA Late Model national point’s leader, added another Hamilton County Speedway win to his totals Saturday in front of an enthusiastic crowd.

Cooney was one of six drivers to make the celebratory trip to Victory Lane.

Cooney worked up from the fifth row to take over the lead from Webster City’s Jason Hahne. Cooney scooped under Hahne on the inside of turn No. 4 on the 19th lap to grab the win. Hahne settled for second with Webster City’s Ryan Griffith in third.

Four drivers traded off the lead during the Sport Mod feature, but it was Roland driver Matt Lettow who led last. He took over on lap No. 15 on his way to the checkers for the second time this season. Oskaloosa’s Carter VanDenberg finished second and third went to Webster City driver Brandon Toftee.

Nick Weiss of Otho took over the lead in the Sport Compact feature at the midpoint of the race and never relented in his second win of the season. Danny Sassman, Jr. was second and fellow Fort Dodge racer Tommy Beekman took third.

Jake Murray, driving out of Hartford, took advantage of his pole position start to claim the win in the Modified division. Tyler Prochaska of Iowa Falls finished second while Adam Larson, last week’s winner out of Ankeny, wound up in third.

Jason Minnehan of Churdan won a three-car battle for the victory in the Stock Car division. Lance Deal edged his way into the lead pack with five laps to go and finished second. Belmond’s John Campbell was third.

Jeremy Morriss of Clare picked up his second straight Hobby Stock feature win. He was pressed by Myles Michehl of Fort Dodge, who finished second. Justin Nehring, Storm Lake, came home in third.

There were 90 drivers from 46 Iowa towns in the pits.

Racing is once again scheduled for Saturday. Hot laps will begin at 6:30 p.m.