‘Guys and Dolls’ rehearsals under way

The lights at Webster City Community Theater are burning late now that rehearsals for “Guys and Dolls” are under way. The latest WCCT production opens July 10 for an eight-performance run over two weekends. Guiding the cast are Wil Groves, director; Cathy Olson, assistant director; Ann Sherve-Ose, music director; and Mara Borer and Hannah Fritz, choreographers.

“Guys and Dolls,” a musical fable of Broadway opened in 1950. Frank Loesser wrote the music and lyrics and Jo Swerling and Abe Burrows teamed up to write the book based on a Damon Runyon short story.

The show tells of the unlikely romance between Sarah Brown (Amanda Keul), an urban missionary, and Sky Masterson (Jordan LeClere), a smooth talking street-smart gambler. A second story line involves Nathan Detroit (Andrew Wotherspoon), and Miss Adelaide (Katie Short), who have been engaged for 14 years. Nathan runs the “oldest established permanent floating crap game in New York.” Adelaide is the star performer at the Hotbox Nightclub.

Other featured performers include: Nathan’s trusted lieutenants Nicely-Nicely Johnson (Sam Ose), Benny Southstreet (Dave Borer) and Rusty Charlie (Mark Andrew); Sarah’s grandfather Arvide Abernathy (Al Yungclas); Windy City gangster Big Julie (Henry Husinga); police detective Lt. Brannigan (Paul Wagner); and commander-in-chief of the Save-a-Souil Mission Gen. Matilda B. Cartwright (Susan Leman).

Guys and Dolls is populated with an assortment of gamblers, chorus girls, mission band members, tourists, con men, hucksters and other denizens of the New York City street scene. Cast members are: Peter Almstalden, Gemma Borer, Gianna Borer, Mara Borer, Maren Borer, Hannah Fritz, Shey Gamble, Katie Greenfield, Donovan Khonthongdy, Lauren Leman, Adam McMurray, Jake Nilles Mikey Paisley, Pat Powers, Jim Stafford, Amanda Wagner, Judy Wagner, Kaitlyn Wagner, Karin Yungclas Don Zompa, Dale Arends, Trese Arends, Randy Andrews, Caleb Sterler, and Courtney Carter.

Pit orchestra members are Allison Bailey, Gianna Borer, Barb Flowerday, Eric Hanson, Brenna Paukert, Barb Wollan, John Hemingway, Kari Foss, Mary O’Connell, Melissa Gillette, and Tyler Hoelscher.

Production team members are Loween Getter, Judy Johnson, Lynn Leksell, Al Yungclas, Carol Zills, Mark Dohms, Karin Yungclas, JoAnn Robb, Doug Getter, Kevin Sweet, Xavier Walker, Marjorie Groves, and Stephanie Hill.