WCCT brings home ICTA awards

The Iowa Community Theatre Association membership currently has 33 community theatres and 17 individual members from across the state of Iowa. The organization supports and strengthens community theatres of all sizes and serves as a liaison with the American Association of Community Theatres. ICTA hosts the state convention and festival competition, awards L.K. Boutin grants, conducts workshops, publishes a quarterly newsletter, and soon will have a new website.

For the past five years, ICTA has recognized the talents and skills of those involved in community theatres productions with Awards of Excellence. Directors are encouraged to nominate their productions in eleven categories: Actor and Actress in Leading and Supporting Roles, Ensemble Acting, Directing, Music Direction, Lighting, Scenic, and Costume Design, and Choreography. Board members then adjudicate the productions and the winners are announced at the annual Gala.

Webster City Community Theatre was honored at the 2014 Gala when the following were named Award of Excellence winners and received hand-blown glass goblets from Boginrief Studios in Spencer:

Clara Nottbrock, former exchange student from Germany, received the Award of Excellence for an Actress in a Lead Role as Adorabelle in Adorabelle and the Silly Seven. Clara spent the 2013-2014 school year with host family Lynn and Sherry Leksell. Host daughter Jenna Short will be visiting her in Germany this month and will present her award at that time.

Josi Greenley and Rosine Kennedy received the Award of Excellence in Music Direction for the Summer 2013 production of Nunset Boulevard.

Other finalists from WCCT included Jenna Short for Actress in a Supporting Role as the Magic Mirror in “Adorabelle and the Silly Seven”; Ensemble Acting for Sally Evans, Mary Sealine, Patti Treibel, Rosine Kennedy, and Angela Rottering as the nuns in “Nunset Boulevard” and Linda Thomas, Karin Yungclas, Loween Getter, Sharon Helm, Cheri Daya, Al Yungclas, Pete Neumeister, Jeff Pingle, and Paul Wagner, the cast of “House Guests Can Be Murder.”

Also nominated were Carol Zills, Zibby Miller, Jane Adams, and Erin Trampel for Scenic Design for “Adorabelle and the Silly Seven” and the cast of “House Guests Can Be Murder” and Karin Yungclas and JoAnn Robb for Costume Design for “Nunset Boulevard.”

As past president and a board member of the organization, Loween Getter said, “I encourage you all to not only support productions here at WCCT, but to take in shows at other community theatres here in Iowa and wherever you travel.”