Gaels land 3 on all-state teams

WEBSTER CITY – A total of 17 players with local conference affiliations were named to the Iowa Girls Coaches Association all-state softball teams.

The IGCA released its all-state rosters yesterday and also named its coaches of the year in each of the five classes. They included Todd Colt of Akron-Westfield (Class 1A), Chris Caskey of Earlham (2A), Lindsay Diehl of Clarke (3A), Steve Schlafke of Dallas Center-Grimes (4A), and Todd Merical of Johnston (5A).

St. Edmond junior pitcher Amanda Lansman headed up the North Central Conference’s all-state presence, as she was named to the 2A first team. Teammate Maggie Harvey, a freshman, was on the second team and senior Jessica Kuebler notched third-team status, as did freshman Amy Russel out of Colfax-Mingo from the Heart of Iowa Conference.

Iowa Falls-Alden senior slugger Shanaya Schutt and versatile Humboldt freshman Avery Terwilliger snagged 3A first-team accolades, as did Greene County junior pitcher Marissa Promes and Prairie City-Monroe senior catcher Abigail Gilson.

Other NCC award winners were Bishop Garrigan sophomore Johanna Vaske (1A third team) and Hampton-Dumont junior Shelby Tidman (3A third team).

Also making the cut out of the HOIC were Greene County junior Emily Christensen (3A second team) and Roland-Story senior Sydney Berends (3A third team).

The Iowa Star Conference collected 1A first-team nods for Don Bosco junior Morgan Frost and Janesville junior Kendyl Sorge. Third-team members in the smallest class included Janesville senior Victoria Leyh, Don Bosco senior Tori Even and Dunkerton sophomore Dani Reicherts.